Company snapshot

Origins

chameleon asset management ag was founded by CEO Carlos Zanotelli in 2007, with a primary area of expertise in “convertible bonds,” a special kind of bonds/debt securities that may be, but do not have to be, transformed into stocks.

In subsequent years, our organization gradually crystallized into our current model: a sustainable, “boutique” bond company, with “high-interest bonds” and “structured products” as our two complementary asset classes; the latter is used with a modest number of private clients for whom it is still possible, in the current disadvantageous interest environment, to generate (mostly) tax-free income.

Target groups

In our role as "collective assets managers" under FINMA’s supervision, our main target groups are institutional investors like retirement funds, family offices, SBE banks and wealth managers.

Depending on country-specific regulations, our funds that are authorized for public sale can of course also be acquired by private investors. In individual cases, we also accept some high-net-worth private clients with an investment volume of two million Swiss francs or more, provided we have the personnel available to do so, as we always want to be sure we can provide all stakeholders with top-quality personalized service.

Focus

Like chameleons, we seek to handle clients’ money as prudently, responsibly and deliberately as possible. Our gaze is directed straight ahead so we can recognize potential early on; to the side, so we can assess risks and dangers; and behind us, so we can reliably evaluate developments and opportunities.

Civic involvement

Because this approach has always been in line with our convictions, we give a mid-single-figure percentage of our sales/profits back to society in acknowledgement of our privileged situation. We usually give to NGO’s and support activities in developing countries, fund research expeditions in our mascot’s countries of origin, or initiate and support publications on the topics of our primary asset classes or on sustainability in general.

Additional information

Fairness and transparency

Since its founding, chameleon asset management ag has always renounced all retrocessions and kick-backs as a matter of principle, preferring to believe that “sometimes less is more,” since such practices have never fit with our ideas about fairness and transparency, and we do not consider such practices to be sustainable. It is not right to charge our valuable clients in multiple ways. Thus holdings of our own funds and larger cash positions are routinely removed from the calculation of our honoraria, provided we find this practicable and it is clearly communicated to the client.


Founder’s statement

Portraitfoto

“It was my mother, Ruth Anna Zanotelli-Studer, who made it possible for me to found my own company; she always supported both me and my sister in our plans, however bold our goals may have been. I am still grateful to her for her trust in me but also, in particular, for her values and convictions, which continue to guide and inspire me today.

The knowledge that I have been permitted to live my own dream, to live in a safe and democratic country, and to lead my own company, to help shape and develop it, fills me with both gratitude and humility, and gives me a clear mandate to always act responsibly and with foresight vis-à-vis people, society and nature.

I view my work as comparable to that of a careful gardener who, unlike a power mower, doesn’t ride roughshod over a meadow but instead approaches the task with affection and thoughtfulness. By being aware of fragility and confidently seeking out hidden potential, I hope to make it possible for good things to blossom and develop.

My attitude can be summarized with reference to three values or characteristics:
ethical, social, sustainable.

Our company vehicle: One-liter plug-in hybrid (VW XL1)
Our company vehicle: One-liter plug-in hybrid (VW XL1)

Basing my own life on these values and inspiring others to do the same is more than just a drop in the bucket; it’s an attitude that helps generate a lot of drops, which flow together into a powerful river that fills life with meaning. After all, working together for our shared future is far more productive than striving individually to obtain material things.”

Carlos Zanotelli

icon

Any questions?

Would you like more detailed information, or a consultation?
We will be happy to help.

nfchmln-sstch

061 633 77 77

This website uses cookies to offer you a better user-friendliness.
By using this website, you agree to the use of cookies and to our data protection. In this you will find more information about cookies.

Firmenportrait

Entstehung

chameleon asset management ag wurde vom CEO Carlos Zanotelli 2007 gegründet – mit der Hauptkompetenz «Wandelanleihen», einer besonderen Form von Anleihen/Obligationen, die in Aktien gewandelt werden können, aber nicht müssen.

In den Folgejahren kristallisierte sich immer mehr unser aktuelles Setup heraus: eine nachhaltige Anleihen-Boutique, mit den beiden sich ergänzenden Asset-Klassen «Hochzins-Anleihen» und «strukturierte Produkte», letztere in Anwendung bei einer überschaubaren Zahl von Privatkunden-Mandaten, wo sich im aktuell eher unvorteilhaften Zinsumfeld noch (meist) steuerfreie Erträge generieren lassen.

Zielgruppen

Unsere Haupt-Zielgruppen – als FINMA beaufsichtigter «Verwalter von Kollektivvermögen»  – sind institutionelle Anleger wie Pensionskassen, Family Offices, KMU Banken und Vermögensverwalter.

Selbstverständlich können unsere zum öffentlichen Vertrieb zugelassenen Fonds je nach Länderregulierung auch von privaten Anlegern erworben werden. Vereinzelt nehmen wir auch Direkt-Mandate ab einem Investitionsvolumen von CHF 2 Mio. von vermögenden Privatpersonen an, sofern wir dies mit unseren personell immer wieder anzupassenden Ressourcen vereinbaren können – wollen wir doch allen Stakeholdern einen Top-Service auf Augenhöhe gewährleisten.

Fokus

Wie das Chamäleon möchten wir mit den Geldern der Kunden möglichst umsichtig, verantwortungsvoll und mit Bedacht umgehen. Unser Blick richtet sich nach vorne, um frühzeitig Potenziale zu erkennen, zur Seite, um Risiken und Gefahren einzuschätzen und ebenso nach hinten, um Entwicklungen zu beurteilen und Opportunitäten zuverlässig evaluieren zu können.

Engagement

Weil es immer schon unserer Überzeugung entsprochen hat, geben wir in Anerkennung unserer priviligierten Situation einen mittleren einstelligen Prozent-Betrag des Umsatzes/Ertrages an die Gesellschaft zurück. Meist begünstigen wir NGO’s und Aktivitäten in Entwicklungsländern, Forschungs-Expeditionen in Herkunftsländern unseres Wappentiers oder wir initiieren und unterstützen Publikationen zu den Themen unserer Haupt-Asset-Klassen oder im Nachhaltigkeits-Kontext generell.

Weitere Infos

Fairness und Transparenz

Schon seit der Gründung hat chameleon asset managment ag prinzipiell auf jegliche Retrozessionen und Kick-Backs verzichtet, ganz nach dem Motto «manchmal ist weniger mehr», zumal dies nie unseren ethischen Vorstellungen von Fairness und Transparenz entsprochen hat, und wir dies nicht als nachhaltig einstufen. Unsere werten Kunden sollen nicht auf verschiedenen Ebenen belastet werden. So werden auch Bestände eigener Fonds und grössere Liquiditäts-Positionen standartmässig aus der Honorarnote herausgerechnet, wo uns dies praktikabel erscheint und den Mandaten klar kommuniziert.


Gründerstatement

Portraitfoto

«Es war meine Mutter Ruth Anna Zanotelli-Studer, die mir die Gründung meiner Firma ermöglichte und sowohl mich als auch meine Schwester stets in unseren Plänen unterstützte, so verwegen unsere Ziele auch waren. Dabei war es nicht nur ihr Vertrauen, für das ich ihr heute noch dankbar bin, sondern v.a. auch ihre Werte und Überzeugungen, die mich bis heute leiten und inspirieren.

Das Bewusstsein, meinen eigenen Traum leben zu dürfen, in einem sicheren und demokratischen Land zu leben, sowie meiner eigenen Firma vorzustehen, sie mitzuformen und mitzuprägen, erfüllt mich mit Dankbarkeit und gleichzeitig mit Demut und dem klaren Anspruch, stets verantwortungsvoll und vorausschauend zu handeln – gegenüber Mensch, Gesellschaft und Natur.

Vergleichbar mit einem achtsamen Gärtner, der im Unterschied zu einem Mähroboter, eine Wiese nicht klinisch sauber mäht, sondern mit Herz und Verstand ans Werk geht, möchte ich mit Sinn für das Fragile und sicherem Blick für verborgenes Potenzial, Schönes erblühen und sich entfalten lassen.

Diese Haltung kann ich mit drei Werten bzw. Eigenschaften zusammenfassen:
ethisch, sozial, nachhaltig.

Unser Firmenfahrzeug: 1-Liter-Plugin-Hybrid (VW XL1)
Unser Firmenfahrzeug: 1-Liter-Plugin-Hybrid (VW XL1)

Selbst nach diesen Werten zu leben und andere dazu zu inspirieren ist weit mehr als ein Tropfen auf einen heissen Stein, es ist eine Haltung, die viele Tropfen entstehen lässt, die sich zu einem starken Fluss vereinen, der das Leben mit Sinn erfüllt. Denn gemeinsames Engagement für unsere gemeinsame Zukunft bewirkt weit mehr als individuelles Streben nach materiellen Dingen.»

Carlos Zanotelli

icon

Haben Sie Fragen?

Wünschen Sie detailliertere Auskünfte oder eine Beratung?
Gerne stehen wir Ihnen für Ihre Anliegen zur Verfügung.

nfchmln-sstch

061 633 77 77

Diese Website benutzt Cookies, um Ihnen mehr Benutzerfreundlichkeit bieten zu können.
Mit der Nutzung dieser Website erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies sowie mit unserer Datenschutzerklärung einverstanden. In dieser finden Sie mehr Informationen über Cookies.